Hanwha Q CELLS makes patent complaints against JinkoSolar, REC and LONGi

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Email
Source: Hanwha Q CELLS.

Updated: Hanwha Q CELLS has filed patent infringement complaints against JinkoSolar, REC Group and LONGi Solar.

A complaint filed with the Regional Court of Düsseldorf against REC and JinkoSolar is centred around the passivation technology used for its Q.ANTUM cells. The complaint seeks an order to stop REC and JinkoSolar from selling products in Germany that allegedly infringe on the patent.

Complaints against the pair and LONGi Solar have also been filed with the US International Trade Commission and the US District Court in Delaware.

“Intellectual property laws exist to incentivize innovation and protect innovations from being unfairly used, and we will vigorously defend our technology from infringement,” said Hee Cheul (Charles) Kim, CEO, Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials Corp. 

Updated

JinkoSolar responded to the claims on 6 March, 2019. 

LONGi Solar and REC Group have separately responded to the patent infringement cases on 7 March, 2019.

On 13 March, 2019 – Hanwha Q CELLS Australia together with Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials Corp filed patent infringement complaints with the Federal Court of Australia against JinkoSolar and LONGi Solar of Australian patent no. 20083232025. 

The Australian patent [025] is directly related to US patent [215] that kick-started infringement cases in the US and Germany on 5 March, 2019.

Hee Cheul (Charles) Kim, Chief Executive Officer of Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials Corp said, “Our high-quality photovoltaic products have established us as an industry leader, and we are proud of our legacy of innovation. The products supplied by these two companies are using technology that we believe is protected by our Australian patent and we have taken these actions both to protect our property rights and to give the market confidence that research and development initiatives to develop future technologies can continue. We are not prepared to tolerate the unauthorised distribution in Australia of products that incorporate our patented technology.”

The patent claims asserted by Hanwha Q CELLS are not restricted to any particular method of manufacture, such as atomic layer deposition (ALD) or plasma-enhanced chemical deposition (PECVD). Instead, the asserted claims of Australian patent no. 20083232025 (and its equivalents in the U.S. and Germany) are directed to a solar cell structure with a first dielectric layer including aluminum oxide and a second dielectric layer that contains hydrogen. 

4 October 2022
Solar & Storage Finance USA, the only event that connects developers to capital and capital to solar and storage projects, will be back in November 2022.
11 October 2022
PV CellTech Extra will be held as a series of live webinars and on-demand sessions on 11-13 October 2022. We'll be taking a slightly further forward-looking view at the technologies and roadmaps for new cell architectures set to dominate mass production during 2023-2025 with special emphasis on the potential timelines for technologies beyond the single-junction cell design, including perovskite and hybrid concepts.

Read Next

September 28, 2022
The ENACT Installer App automates the complete journey of the customer, right from first contact to complete installation.
PV Tech Premium
September 27, 2022
Europe must build out its own large-scale, vertically integrated solar PV manufacturing base as a means to ensure its clean energy transition.
September 27, 2022
Tongwei has announced plans to sign an investment agreement to develop a 25GW high-efficiency PV module manufacturing base in China
PV Tech Premium
September 26, 2022
The way that solar companies use and consume intelligence needs to change, with more accurate and reliable data on project deployment needed, especially in light of the recently passed Inflation Reduction Act (IRA).
September 22, 2022
The RE+ tradeshow has been full of hope, excitement but also short-term questions as the industry considers the significance of the IRA.
September 22, 2022
Qcells has heightened its commitment to the global solar supply chain as its parent company, Hanwha Solutions, increases investment in clean raw materials.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Upcoming Events

Solar Media Events
October 4, 2022
New York, USA
On-Demand Webinars, Solar Media Events
October 11, 2022
Virtual event
Upcoming Webinars
October 18, 2022
10am (EDT) / 4pm (CEST)