Hanwha Q CELLS makes patent complaints against JinkoSolar, REC and LONGi

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email
Source: Hanwha Q CELLS.

Updated: Hanwha Q CELLS has filed patent infringement complaints against JinkoSolar, REC Group and LONGi Solar.

A complaint filed with the Regional Court of Düsseldorf against REC and JinkoSolar is centred around the passivation technology used for its Q.ANTUM cells. The complaint seeks an order to stop REC and JinkoSolar from selling products in Germany that allegedly infringe on the patent.

Complaints against the pair and LONGi Solar have also been filed with the US International Trade Commission and the US District Court in Delaware.

“Intellectual property laws exist to incentivize innovation and protect innovations from being unfairly used, and we will vigorously defend our technology from infringement,” said Hee Cheul (Charles) Kim, CEO, Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials Corp. 

Updated

JinkoSolar responded to the claims on 6 March, 2019. 

LONGi Solar and REC Group have separately responded to the patent infringement cases on 7 March, 2019.

On 13 March, 2019 – Hanwha Q CELLS Australia together with Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials Corp filed patent infringement complaints with the Federal Court of Australia against JinkoSolar and LONGi Solar of Australian patent no. 20083232025. 

The Australian patent [025] is directly related to US patent [215] that kick-started infringement cases in the US and Germany on 5 March, 2019.

Hee Cheul (Charles) Kim, Chief Executive Officer of Hanwha Q CELLS & Advanced Materials Corp said, “Our high-quality photovoltaic products have established us as an industry leader, and we are proud of our legacy of innovation. The products supplied by these two companies are using technology that we believe is protected by our Australian patent and we have taken these actions both to protect our property rights and to give the market confidence that research and development initiatives to develop future technologies can continue. We are not prepared to tolerate the unauthorised distribution in Australia of products that incorporate our patented technology.”

The patent claims asserted by Hanwha Q CELLS are not restricted to any particular method of manufacture, such as atomic layer deposition (ALD) or plasma-enhanced chemical deposition (PECVD). Instead, the asserted claims of Australian patent no. 20083232025 (and its equivalents in the U.S. and Germany) are directed to a solar cell structure with a first dielectric layer including aluminum oxide and a second dielectric layer that contains hydrogen. 

Read Next

May 18, 2021
Solar Module Super League (SMSL) member JinkoSolar has named Mengmeng (Pan) Li as the company’s new chief financial officer, replacing Haiyun Cao effective immediately.
May 13, 2021
The solar module manufacturing subsidiary of Italian utility Enel is aiming to scale up annual production capacity to 3GW in the second half of 2023, the company has confirmed.
May 10, 2021
LONGi Solar has set a record conversion efficiency of 25.09% for its N-type monocrystalline bifacial TOPCon cell that has been independently verified by the Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hamelin.
May 4, 2021
Leading monocrystalline wafer producer and ‘Solar Module Super League’ (SMSL) member, LONGi Green Energy and subsidiary, LONGi Solar respectively, have continued an unprecedented sales run, notching up first 2021 revenue (operating income) of RMB 15.85 billion (US$2.44 billion), its second highest quarterly figures.
April 28, 2021
Renewable energy group BayWa r.e. has opened what it claims is its largest PV warehouse in Europe yet in a bid to expand its distribution network in the continent.
April 26, 2021
Germany’s renewable energy sector has said new government plans to more than triple the PV capacity included in next year’s auctions do not go far enough in supporting long-term solar deployment.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Webinars
May 26, 2021
Session 1 - 7:00 AM (BST) | Session 2 - 5:00 PM (BST)
Solar Media Events
June 15, 2021
Solar Media Events
July 6, 2021
Solar Media Events
August 24, 2021