International Solar Alliance appoints new director general

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email
Ajay Mathur, currently director general of The Energy and Resources Institute, will start his new role on 15 March. Image: ISA.
Ajay Mathur, currently director general of The Energy and Resources Institute, will start his new role on 15 March. Image: ISA.

The International Solar Alliance (ISA) has announced the appointment of Ajay Mathur as its new director general following his election at a virtual assembly.

Mathur is currently director general of the Energy and Resources Institute and has previously held senior positions at India’s Bureau of Energy Efficiency and the Green Climate Fund. He will start his new role on 15 March, replacing Upendra Tripathy, who has served as ISA director general since its foundation in 2015.

Mathur said the alliance “has a vital role” in helping to establish the infrastructure needed for a zero-carbon emission future, adding: “With strong foundations already in place, my immediate focus is to identify and mobilise the opportunities and capital to accelerate our solarisation goals in the interim and long-term.”

Launched at the 2015 Paris Climate Conference, ISA provides a platform for cooperation through which the global community can contribute to help increase the deployment of solar energy. Currently a coalition of 73 member countries, the organisation recently expanded its membership scope to allow all United Nations states to join.

With the US’s renewed clean energy focus from the Biden administration as well as the COP26 Climate Change Conference that will take place in the UK in November, ISA said Mathur’s appointment comes in a year when addressing climate change commitments “will take centre stage”.

COP26 president Alok Sharma said: “I am delighted that Dr Ajay Mathur, an invaluable friend of COP26, is taking up this important post. The International Solar Alliance has been a key partner in driving the international collaboration we need to a low carbon future, and I look forward to working together ahead of COP26 this November.”

Read Next

May 20, 2022
Solar module supplier Maxeon Solar Technologies has appointed Philippe Costemale as its new chief operating officer (COO).
May 10, 2022
Independent power producer (IPP) Cypress Creek Renewables has hired Jeffrey Meigel as its new chief investment officer (CIO).
May 9, 2022
Indian independent power producer (IPP) Azure Power has appointed Harsh Shah as CEO, effective from 1 July, following the resignation of its previous CEO, Ranjit Gupta, last month.
April 6, 2022
Solar project developer Eco Energy World (EEW) has hired James Hunter as its new chief financial officer (CFO) as it bids to bolster its global presence.
April 6, 2022
US solar tracker supplier Array Technologies has appointed Kevin Hostetler as its new CEO after its current CEO Jim Fusaro stated his intention to retire by the end of the year.
March 28, 2022
Raymond Carlsen is stepping down as CEO of independent power producer Scatec after 13 years in the role, to be replaced by the company’s EVP of project development, Terje Pilskog.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Upcoming Events

Solar Media Events
June 7, 2022
Leonardo Royal London City, London, UK
Solar Media Events
June 14, 2022
Napa, USA
Solar Media Events
June 22, 2022
Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol, Austin, Texas